The Cycladic Islands

The Cycladic Islands, also called the Cyclades, are a group of Greek islands in the Aegean Sea. Several islands that are included in this region are Amorgos, Kimolos, Mykonos, Naxos, Paros, and Sifnos.

Popular dances from the Cycladic Islands

Ageranos (Paros), Balaristos (Mykonos), Ballos (Kythnos), Ni Ken Dre (Amorgos), Pidihtos (Naxos), Rousikos (Sifnos), Sousta (Kimolos), and Vlaha (Naxos)

Costumes from the Cycladic Islands

This costume was worn on the island of Sifnos and occasionally on Ios. One of the characteristics of the costume is the headdress, whose shape is similar to that of a seashell. The jewelry complementing the costume is reminiscent of Venetian style. The pieces of the costume are frequently fashioned from expensive fabrics and typically of a green floral pattern. Sifnos Sifnos